Melvins Lite- Freak Puke (Now With Sound!)

ipc 136 150x150 Melvins Lite  Freak Puke (Now With Sound!)For anyone who doesn’t know, the Melvins have gone through many lineup changes throughout the years. And for the most part, I mean bassist changes. The core duo of King Buzzo (guitar) and Dale Crover (drums) have been playing together since their first release in 1986. Their latest incarnation has been releasing albums as a four-piece the last six years.

Freak Puke is a change from that paradigm. Over the past few years, Buzz and Dale have played as a two-piece calling themselves “Melvins Lite.” Last summer they added jazz bassist Trevor Dunn the mix. Dunn’s actually played a handful of live dates throughout the years, including the Houdini Live album.

So I hope I’ve caught everybody up without too much confusion. You want to know how the album is?

It’s great. Really. The “lite” moniker is a bit misleading. This doesn’t sound like MTV Unplugged. It may be light compared to their doom metal stuff, but this is definitely a rock album. Or at least a fusion album, as there is some jazz bass. Even a few bass solos. Like actually solos where only one instrument is playing.

Although the album is very unique to their catalog, it has the experimental vibe of the albums they were making a decade ago. Then add an upright bass into the mix. Mixed in with some rockers that more like their recent Alice Cooperish songs. And throw in a Wings cover.  So yeah. It’s one of those kinds of albums.

EDIT: So the album’s out now and there’s no reason why you shouldn’t have it, but in case you still need some convincing here’s a download of Leon Vs the Revolution which I feel has a real Primus vibe:

06 Leon vs. The Revolution

Stream: The Futureheads – Meet Me Halfway

To be released in conjunction with their new a cappella album ‘Rant’, The Futureheads have announced that double A-side ‘Meet Me Halfway/The No.1 Song In Heaven’ will also be released, seeing the band transform The Black Eyed Peas’ single and the 1970s Sparks track into harmonious four-part a capellas.

Eyvind Kang – The Narrow Garden

IPC 132 Eyvind Kang Narrow Garden cover 150x150 Eyvind Kang   The Narrow GardenViolinist Eyvind Kang has written some of the most beautiful music to be released in the past 15 years. With over four years since his previous record, Narrow Garden was released last week.  Not quite sounding like his others, this has a bit of an Eastern feel at points. Almost like Secret Chiefs 3 (who Kang has played with) but not rock oriented.

The album is very string (obviously) and flute laden. There are some vocals featuring Jessika Kenney (Although I’m not sure what language they’re in. The credits aren’t in English. Some Latin language. Maybe even Latin.)

True to form, Kang begins the seven-track album with some pretty mellow compositions. It becomes more and more ambient as it progresses. Eventually it builds and builds into the climactic crescendo of Invisus Natalis.

Anyway, this is a really great album. It isn’t for everyone, but if you enjoyed his previous albums or just like ambient string music, you won’t be disappointed.

Below is a download of the track Pure Nothing:

02 Pure Nothing